Bhakti Yoga- Everything You Need to Know About It

Bhakti yoga is the other name of love, faith, and devotion. It is not the path for blind followers.  Swami Rama, a very famous indian yogi, always said to his students, do your work with

Bhakti yoga is the other name of love, faith, and devotion. It is not the path for blind followers.  Swami Rama, a very famous indian yogi, always said to his students, do your work with passion and devotion, whether you are doing the most stressful job. Bhakti means complete devotion to God, love to His Creation. Everybody can practice this yoga, whether rich or poor, young, old, no matter to what religion or nation you belong. The path of Bhakti yoga leads us beautifully and safely to the goal.

Today we will go to talk about every single detail of Bhakti yoga, and I’ll also give you some tips about how you can perform it.

Yoga pose

What is Bhakti Yoga?

Bhakti is a Sanskrit word that originates from root bhaj that means to worship or adore God who is everywhere, dwells within us and all around us. Love is an excellent thread that connects us to Devine Nature. A person without Bhakti or devotion is like a bird without wings, a fish without water, a night without moon and stars.

All beings need care with so much love through it; we all feel happy and protected, just like a child in the arms of its mother. Mainly, there are two types of Bhakti yoga;

  • Apara Bhakti: Egoistic Love
  • Para Bhakti: Universal Love

A Bhakta person accepts everything that happens to him as a gift of his beloved God. There is no expectation or desire; there is complete surrender to the will of your God. He thinks that each life situation as placed before him by destiny.

Most people turn to God for help in every painful and troubling condition. Other prays for money, material objects, glory, and career promotion. Yet you must always be mindful that when you depart from this world, we will leave behind all possessions that are why nothing here has real or lasting value.

Elements of Bhakti Yoga

In the Bhakti Sutras, Sage Narada explains nine aspects of this yoga;

  • Satsang: good spiritual company
  • Hari Katha: to hear and read about God
  • Shradha: Faith
  • Ishvara Bhajana: to sing the praises of God
  • Mantra Japa: Repetition of God’s name
  • Shama Dama: Withdrawal and control of the senses about worldly things
  • Santo ka Adar: to show honor to an individual who have dedicated their lives God
  • Santosha: contentment
  • Ishvara Pranidhana: Devotion to God

The Different Shades of Bhakti Yoga

The emotion and level of expressing your love or feelings to a deity vary and below are some different types;


The believer is not very vocal about his feelings. He is blissful and calm. He remains in the thought of his God without expressing it out much.


The devotee gives in to the completely to God or deity. He serves him with pure attention and care.


Here, devotee unconditionally loves God or deity, similar to the love of any parent for their kids.


The devotee considers the deity as his beloved friend.


In this form, the believer is completely soaked in the love of his God and considers him beloved.

Traditional Ways to Practice Bhakti Yoga in Daily Life

Bhakti yoga is a type of yoga that focuses on devotion, love, and devotional practices. God is love, and Love is God. It utilizes our fundamental or essential emotional relationships and sublimates them into selfless, pure, and divine love.

There are some traditional ways or techniques to sublimate emotions to the teaching of Bhakti yoga. You can apply these ways in our relationships with others;

  • You can sing the glories of God and to look for others’ positive qualities, learn to praise, and appreciates them.
  • Listen to inspirational stories of Divine Creation and develop the capacity to listen to people without judgment. It would help if you are honest about what you do and also say about yourself.
  • Remembrance of God’s name and presence in your prayers
  • You should learn to hold individuals you love in your heart in religious feelings or mood and feel the sacredness of your relationships. Be forgiving and detached.  Be grateful to all human beings who you interact with in your life.
  • You should service with humility and increases your efforts to serve everyone, whether you like them or not.
  • Pray throughout the day, particularly prayers of gratitude. It will help if you are thankful for the severe or challenging aspects of your life as well as pleasant ones.

Benefits of Bhakti Yoga

  • It softens your personality and keeps you away from negative feelings or emotions like anger, jealousy, arrogance, and ego.
  • Bhakti yoga provides you peace and knowledge.
  • It takes you away from fear, anxiety, and keeps you calm.
  • It minimizes your sorrows and pains.
  • Bhakti yoga will give you an experienced divine.
  • It helps you to control your senses and also handle tough situations with comfort or ease.


Bhakti yoga is not a complicated practice; it just needs love and devotion to God. You can perform it as a purely spiritual practice. Don’t care about religion, caste, or color because someone from any faith or belief can do it if he wants.

It is all about Bhakti yoga and all its aspects. Hopefully, I don’t miss any point; if you like it, and then comment below. Thank You!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *